Las Vegas, Nevada has definitive laws regarding car accidents and DUIs. A DUI means driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs. If a car accident occurs and someone is drunk driving in Nevada but nobody is injured or killed, the intoxicated driver will be charged with a misdemeanor, which means up to six months in jail and a fine of up to $1,000.
However, if someone is injured or killed in or after an accident with a driver who is intoxicated, the intoxicated driver will receive much harsher penalties. Those include a DUI charge, which is a felony and carries up to a 20 year prison sentence. A person is considered legally intoxicated when their BAC (blood alcohol concentration) is 0.08 or higher for regular drivers and 0.04 for commercial drivers. The individual will see their driver’s license suspended for several months or revoked altogether, a fine and driving school and substance abuse counseling may be required. There may also be an ignition interlock device placed on the individual’s vehicle if their driving privileges are reinstated.
In addition, the person who is charged with a DUI may also discover that their car insurance policy has been canceled. That means finding another one, but the premium will be considerably higher. In some cases, insurance premiums can be two times higher or even three times higher than the original prior to the DUI charge.
Although a DUI charge in Nevada seems serious enough, there are even more worrisome charges with which to contend. If a person is involved in a DUI related car accident, additional charges can be brought against them, including reckless driving, assault and even negligent homicide. In many instances, when police arrive at the scene of the accident to make a report, additional criminal charges will be placed against the individual driving under the influence.
Drivers who already have a DUI charge and who are charged a second or third time face even harsher penalties. Greater jail time and higher fines will be required. A person with multiple convictions for DUI will also lose their driver’s license for several years or even permanently.
If you are involved in a car accident and a DUI is involved, you must immediately hire a skilled Las Vegas attorney. Your lawyer will help you in your case every step of the way.